A Little Lost

26Jun04
     On the way home I found that things looked different. Very different.
     was on the wrong road, going the wrong way. I didn’t know where I was. I figured if I kept going, eventually I would find the right way.
     But where I was walking became very dark, too dark. Eventually, all I could see were stars. I wished I knew where the North Star was. Even if I did, I wouldn’t know how to use it, anyway.
     After walking for another hour- at least I thought that’s how long it was, because I couldn’t see my watch. I really wished I had brought a flashlight, but I hadn’t anticipated getting lost.
     I decided to sit and wait until morning. However long that might be. I sat with my back against a tree. I started singing to amuse myself. I sang the words to all the tunes on Led Zeppelin IV. As I tried to figure out to sing. I fell asleep.
     I don’t know how long I was asleep, but when I woke up, there was light in my face. I thought it was the sun, but it wasn’t the sun. I don’t know what it was. It was bright. I got up.
     I looked around- no stars. I was in a clearing. There were trees all around. The light moved, and ·····I followed it. It kept going, and I went with it. I could see the time not- 3.47. Wow.
     It led me all the way home, which wasn’t very far. To this day I have no idea what it was.

19 November, 2003https://kmn7.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php
A very little story from a writing exercise. You figure it out.

No Responses Yet to “A Little Lost”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

