pressure to have a happy new year

31Dec08

imgAs the new year closes, and I have (nearly) cleaned my apartment, I now reflect on what people say every year- Happy New Year!

That’s why I put up this Desktop Wallpaper Calendar: January 2009, something I look forward to every month. It’s almost like “Happy New Month!” It’s definitely not my favorite, but it says those words we all hear.

I have thought aboutthis, having the happy new year that people wish you, or tell you to do, depending on who is telling you that.

Well, that’s a lot of pressure. It’s now like a happy birthday or “merry” Christmas, which are only one day and it’s over, but a who year.365 (or sometimes 366) days of absolute happiness. That’s a big order, an extremely hard thing to do. And would you really want to do that, be happy all the time.

It really is impossible. In fact, I think it is quite healthy to get into all kinds of different moods- I think there have been plenty of scientific studies on this very subject. I know, as for myself, I think I would go insane if I had to be happy all the time.

Have you ever met one of those people, the kind that are just too perky all the time? I have. After a while one of you just has to go away.

No Responses Yet to “pressure to have a happy new year”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

