best sites and tools for 2008

04Jan09

These are some of the coolest and best things I have found this year, sort of a “sites of the year” thing. I am sure that at least some of them have been around for longer, but I only found them this year, and that is the criteria for this entry. As I went through my sites of the week for this year, I was amazed to find this many.

Stuff I use every day:

  • Favthumbs A thumbnail view of all our del.icio.us bookmarks. I use ti every day, whether to put them in or find what site I am looking for- much easier than going through a list, especially when you can’t quite remember what that site was called…
  • Desktop Wallpaper Calendar January 2009 Well I don’t use one every day, but I so see one. This is actually for this year, but you can find one for next month or previous months on the site. I’m the type of person that has to change their wallpaper frequently, so this is perfect.

Writing stuff:

  • Penzu Somewhere between a personal journal and a blog, at least that’s the way I see it. Looks like a notebook page, just as if you are writing on a piece of paper,but with better handwriting.
  • Write or Die Dr Wicked’s Writing Lab You will write, whether you want to or not. Put yourself under three kinds of pressure, timed, and the real vicious one “unwrites” itself if you don’t keep your fingers moving.
  • Wordle Once you’ve written it, turn it into art. Makes for good wallpaper. (I should make one and stick it up here some time.)
  • Ecofont less is more Holey environmental font. Look closely, there are white spaces within the letters, so that when you print out, less ink is used.

Around the house:

  • Apartment Therapy Cool interiors to make your house a great looking hpme.
  • Re-Nest Environmentally friendly stuff for your life at home. the earth is good, lets keep it that way— please.
  • Unplggd Gadgets for your home and elsewhere. Who doesn’t need more cool gadgets, right?
  • PLU: Produce Lookup Codes I always wondered about what these numbers were, so I looked them up, and this is what I found. This site shows the images of what you are looking for, as well as words and numbers.
  • PLU Codes (Numerical Order) Same as above, only no pictures, and in a numerical ordered list form.

Other interesting stuff:

  • SleepWarrior.com Sleep is good for you, andI have always found it interesting. There’s a cool pdf there, too.
  • The List Universe fun, strange, fascination, informative–just a few of the things you can say about this list. I like to amaze people with some of thee stuff I have learned here.
No Responses Yet to “best sites and tools for 2008”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

